Guides to Writing: Worldbuilding & Mood and Atmosphere!

Crimson Rhen of The Truth North

A project in Pittsburgh, PA by Thom Pratt
000days 
:
00hours 
:
00minutes 

Cancelled by Creator

Steampunk! Fantasy! Adventure! It's like those 1980s adventure movies you used to love, but as a comic... plus Airships and Magic!
Backers: 269
Average Pledge Per Backer: $43

Funded: $11,505 of $25,000
Dates: Nov 12th -> Dec 12th (31 days)
Project By: Thom Pratt
Tags:
kidsrpgcomicsweb seriesadventureactionsteampunkbooksgraphic novelfantasycomedyaircraft +Suggest

Suggest Tags

Begin typing to search or pick from a list. You can add multiple tags at the same time!
SubmitCancel
Saving your suggestions...
Suggestion Saved Successfully
Thank you for your help! The Kicktraq gnomes will get to work on your suggestions very soon.

Please keep in mind not all suggestions may be used, and repeated re-submissions may result in being rejected automatically (and we don't want that to happen).

If you have any questions, have a good idea for a tag, or a more in-depth suggestion - please feel free to let us know!

Ok
Hrm... something went wrong.
Hey, bad things happen to the best of us. Don't worry, the gnomes have been dispatched. Maybe try again in a little while.

Ok

$11,505

current pledge level
Last Updated: December 10 @ 10:01 -0500 GMT

46%

of goal
project cancelled

$0

trending toward
Trends are not projections. Read More >>

0%

of goal

(loading your very own snazzy kicktraq chart)

(loading your very own snazzy kicktraq chart)

(loading your very own snazzy kicktraq chart)

(loading your very own snazzy kicktraq chart)

(loading your very own snazzy kicktraq chart)

Now you can share!

Help your backers reach your daily goals and help others see how you're doing. It's easy, with Kicktraq Mini.

Here are a few quick snippits of code you can use to embed your personalized widget on your website, in your blog, and even on your favorite forum.

HTML for websites & blogs
Copy HTML

BBCode for forums
Copy BBCode

Reddit code for... well, Reddit
Copy Reddit Code

Special Note: Kickstarter recently disabled remote embedding for images on project pages, so embedding code doesn't work on project pages (yet) - just everywhere else.

You can read more about it here.
Latest News

Kickstarting a kid-friendly steampunk graphic novel

February 8th - via: boingboing.net
Thom writes, "When our Kickstarter for a kid-friendly steampunk comic was 'kicktrolled' last November, the Internet quickly came to our rescue. And while we ultimately cancelled that project for fear of a repeat incident, we're back with a new campaign for a graphic novel of our webcomic -- and a possible way to make 'Crimson Rhen of the True North' happen!" (Read More)

Thank you and good night.

December 10th - via: kickstarter.com
Hello, awesome backers! We regret to inform you that we've decided to cancel this project. We only have a couple of days left in the campaign and still need over 50% of our funding. Realistically, I don't see how we can possibly make goal.... (Read More)

We're on USA Today?!

December 5th - via: kickstarter.com
For serious?? Whitney Matheson of USA Today's Pop Candy gives Crimson Rhen a shoutout!  Very cool, indeed. :)  (Read More)

Kicktrolling: The aftermath.

December 4th - via: kickstarter.com
Wow! What a crazy 24 hours! After I posted about our trolling incident, comics news blogs The Beat and Bleeding Cool both picked up the story. Both had covered similar incidents recently, and it made sense to do a follow up to warn other creators... (Read More)

Interview!

December 4th - via: kickstarter.com
Last week we were interviewed by the amazing Melody-Ann Kaufmann over at GeekEccentric. She put together one of the most thorough interviews we've ever done, and it was a real pleasure to talk to a writer who was also an avid reader of our comic. ... (Read More)

Kicktroll bringt Comicprojekt zum Scheitern

December 4th - via: golem.de
Wankelmütige Geldgeber können ein Kickstarter-Projekt leicht in Verruf bringen - auch mit voller Absicht. Ein solcher Kicktroll ist offenbar dafür verantwortlich, dass ein Projekt des Comiczeichners Thom Pratt wohl missglücken wird. (Read More)

Kicktrolling is on the rise as funders become scammers

December 3rd - via: comicsbeat.com
“Kicktrolling” is a new word and one you may, sadly, be hearing a lot more about. The Beat broke the story last month about Kickstarter scammer “Encik Farhan”, who was funding over 100 projects at the highest level only to then dispute the charges and still get the goods. (Read More)

Kickstarter Fail - Crimson Rhen Gets Kicktrolled Over Thanksgiving

December 3rd - via: bleedingcool.com
We’ve run Kickstarter Fails looking at those using Kickstarter to raise money that don’t always… work out. But of late, there have been more from bidders who are scammers. At least they were trying to scam free goods. There are those who do it, it seems, for shits and giggles. (Read More)

Kicktrolling.

December 2nd - via: kickstarter.com
You might have noticed that our campaign's funding amount has yo-yo'd very noticeably over the past few days.  That's because we were "Kicktrolled."  Yeah, I just made that word up. I'm not sure what they're calling these days, but it seems to be a... (Read More)

Thanks. And Punxsutawney Phil.

November 27th - via: kickstarter.com
First and foremost, I want to wish our fabulous American backers a fantastic Thanksgiving holiday, and our Jewish backers an equally fantastic Hanukkah! You guys are great!  Thanks to some truly amazing backers, we're much further along in our... (Read More)

Game shows, Cthulhu, and guerilla marketing.

November 23rd - via: kickstarter.com
Hello, friends of Rhen! Just a few quick updates tonight... Everybody Loves Cthulhu.Shane Tyree has a great-looking card game project going on called Call of Cthulhu: The Writhing Dark.  He says if you back the project and mention "Crimson Rhen" via... (Read More)

Stretch goals? Sure!

November 23rd - via: kickstarter.com
To celebrate us reaching 25% of goal, we've lifted the curtain on some of our planned stretch goals! Head over to the project page now to see what we intend to do should we get past our initial funding goal!  (Read More)

Project of the Day?!

November 21st - via: kickstarter.com
Well, that was a surprise!  (Read More)

Finally, fantasy.

November 20th - via: kickstarter.com
Steampunk and '80s adventure movies aren't the only influence for Crimson Rhen. Having been an avid gamer back in the day, we draw a lot of influence from video games. My favorite series has always been Final Fantasy, and the design of The True... (Read More)

Books. Books? Books!

November 19th - via: kickstarter.com
Since our launch last week, the most common question we've been asked is "Why aren't there any lower priced book tiers?" And the short answer is "That happens when we surpass our funding goal." The long answer is that this Kickstarter campaign isn't... (Read More)

Wolfgang.

November 18th - via: kickstarter.com
Despite the "steampunk" window dressing, Crimson Rhen of The True North draws a lot of inspiration from characters and archetypes from movies that Kam and I grew up with in the 1980s. One example is Rhen's best friend Tristan Barret. He was partly... (Read More)

A Digital Comics Kickstarter? That'll Teach Us!

November 16th - via: bleedingcool.com
A few days ago, my wife Kambrea and I launched another Kickstarter campaign. And we’re doing it all wrong. We’re attempting to Kickstart a family-friendly adventure graphic novel in the vein of The Goonies and Mark Twain. And it’s not even done yet. In fact, we’ve barely started on the artwork. (Read More)

Home.

November 15th - via: kickstarter.com
Thank you so much to all our truly awesome backers and supporters! Because of you we're now at 12% of goal 3 days into the campaign. The Family of The True NorthThis story is a fun adventure complete with bad guys, an unusual map, airships, pirates,... (Read More)

Teach Comics? Teach Comics!

November 14th - via: kickstarter.com
Yeah, we have big plans for the process blog (to be hosted at www.TeachComics.com) should we be successful at funding this project. Longtime readers of our comics may not know that Kam is a certified teacher and has a real heart for using art and... (Read More)

Laddie's jacket.

November 13th - via: kickstarter.com
Does Rhen's jacket look familiar to you?  That may be because it was inspired by the jacket worn by Laddie in The Lost Boys.  (Read More)

The Spirit of Kickstarter

November 13th - via: kickstarter.com
While we’d successfully funded a print drive through Kickstarter last year, this is our first real Kickstarter project. Meaning, this is the first project we’ve done that’s in the true spirit of what Kickstarter is all about. Let me elaborate a... (Read More)

And so it begins!

November 13th - via: kickstarter.com
Thank you, thank you early backers! We're about a half a day into the campaign and we truly appreciate the support you guys have shown so far! Crimson Rhen has been a long time coming. Being written as a standalone graphic novel (as opposed to a... (Read More)

If you have additional news that doesn't appear here, shoot us a link!